Does this cinnamon roll make my butt look fat?

I have found what could quite possibly be the world’s largest cinnamon roll.  I’m not counting the cinnamon rolls that are made as part of a stunt to get into some sort of world record book or in honor of National Cinnamon Roll day (if there is such a thing, which I’m sure there probably is).  I’m just talking about your everyday,  average, run-of-the-mill cinnamon rolls served at diners, cafes and restaurants on a regular basis. 

I encountered this behemoth, butter-laden pastry at the Rocking Chair Cafe in Conway, Missouri which is smack-dab between Springfield and Lebanon along I-44.  I’d read the cinnamon rolls were big here, but I was not fully prepared for what I saw as the waitress approached my table.  When she saw my face she guffawed.  Other patrons whispered and tittered as I whipped out my camera to take a photo (little did they know that I take pictures of lots of food).

It was so big it was spilling off the plate. This cinnamon roll was 7 inches across and 3 1/2 inches high in the center and about 3 inches around the outside (yes, I actually used a ruler).  And DAMN was it ever good.  Sometimes big food can be really disappointing, but not this time.  They way I figure it, it was at least 147 cu. inches of scrumptiousness.  And I know I’m a hypocrite the way I go on about this cinnamon roll because I’m the first to complain about how gargatuan portion sizes doled out at restaurants are making Americans fat, but in my defense I had to struggle to finish half of it.

I googled for photos of what other people consider the “biggest cinnamon roll” and found a few examples here and here that pale in comparison to the monster at the Rocking Chair.   Are there any other cinnamon rolls out there that can beat this one? I’d love to see it if there is.

4 responses to “Does this cinnamon roll make my butt look fat?

  1. Listen– I’ll trade you that cinnamon roll for a sausage roll ANY DAY!!

  2. I personally haven’t seen them but I’ve heard about XL cinnamon rolls at both Lulu’s in San Antonio, Texas and Stuffy’s 2 in Longview, Washington. I’m on a mission to find the biggest one I can so I can have it delivered to my cinnamon roll loving sister for her 40th birthday. By any chance do you know if yours delivers and if it has raisins or nuts in it?

  3. Hi Roni- This doesn’t seem to be the type of place that would deliver, but you never know, people in Missouri are so nice they may pack one up for you and ship it if the price is right. I’ve not been to either of those places in TX, but this one is huge and it is nut and raisin free!

  4. I think the one at Lulu’s is bigger but it’s not very good. Too much dough and not enough cinnamon gooeyness. It tastes like a dinner roll with a little cinnamon sugar on the side. I make homemade cinnamon rolls and I think they don’t roll the dough out thin enough for there to be a good ratio of dough to cinnamon & sugar.

Leave a Reply

